About Us

OUR STORY

The Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness (MCAH) is a nonprofit membership organization formed in 1991 as an association of emergency shelters, transitional housing programs, nonprofit housing and service programs, government programs, and concerned citizens from across the state.

MCAH empowers over 650 Michigan homeless service agencies through public awareness activities, advocacy at the state and federal level, and support services that bring in national expertise and best practices. Our understanding of homelessness is driven by extensive and varied experience in the field and on-going primary and secondary research and analysis.

Together, we can prevent and end homelessness in Michigan.

Our Mission
We serve as an inclusive statewide voice to improve systems and support
communities to prevent and end homelessness in a way that leaves no one
behind.
 
Our Team

Chief Executive Officer, Eric Hufnagel
ehufnagel@mihomeless.org


Manager of Partner Training, Support, & Engagement
Allison Green agreen@mihomeless.org

Communications Manager
Amy Stephenson astephenson@mihomeless.org

Director of Public Policy
Lisa Chapman lchapman@mihomeless.org

Director of Finance and Administration
Christine Corbett ccorbett@mihomeless.org

Director of Programs and Personnel
AmeriCorps Program Director

Kelli Beavers kbeavers@mihomeless.org

Assistant AmeriCorps Program Director
Eric Krogsrud ekrogsrud@mihomeless.org

Manager of Authentic Engagement
Ashia Wilson awilson@mihomeless.org  

Director of Development
Bob O’Hara rohara@mihomeless.org

 

 

 

Director of Data Initiatives
Gerry Leslie gleslie@mihomeless.org

HMIS HMIS Project Specialist
Jesse Sanderson jsanderson@mihomeless.org

HMIS Sys Admin II
Elizabeth Graham / Beth Hurkman egraham@mihomeless.org

HMIS Sys Admin II
Jill Shoemaker jshoemaker@mihomeless.org

HMIS Sys Admin II
Kaity Hemgesberg khemgesberg@mihomeless.org

HMIS Sys Admin II
Thurston Alexander-Smith talexandersmith@mihomeless.org

HMIS Sys Admin II
Lyn Raymond lraymond@mihomeless.org

HMIS Sys Admin II
Sara Platek splatek@mihomeless.org

 

HMIS Help Line
517/485.6536
Michigan Help:
MIHelp@mihomeless.org
North Carolina Help: NCHelp@mihomeless.org

Our Board

President            Daniel Kelly
Vice President   Amanda Sternberg
Secretary            Kittie Tunistra
Treasurer           Stephanie Kasprzak

Leora Bain
Mitchell Lindstrom
Holton Hawkins
Kellie Maki-Foster
Jubin Cheruvelil
Mitchell Nelson

 
Join Us

Board of Directors and Committees

MCAH’s Board of Directors and Committees is made of state experts representing shelters, housing service providers, city and state agencies, community health, and advocates.

Learn about our committees and apply

Learn about our board of directors and apply

Employment

Want to work for a statewide nonprofit that makes a difference in how we think about, talk about, and prioritize homelessness solutions for the state of Michigan? Check out our job postings as they open or let us know if you’d like to pursue volunteer opportunities.

General Employment Application

Internship

Unpaid internships are available during the fall, spring and summer semesters. Interested students and recent graduates can apply via Handshake. Internships include Communications, Fund Development, and Public Policy.

MCAH Internship Application Form

Membership

Membership with MCAH opens up new doors for you and your organization. Join today to support our work and to access member-only benefits including event discounts.

Become an individual member 

2022 Membership Form_Individual (1)

Become an organizational member

2022 Membership Form_Organizational

 

AmeriCorps

MCAH is recruiting Host Sites for our AmeriCorps Programs!

Learn more about our programs and apply to host an AmeriCorps member or AmeriCorps VISTA member.