SOI Reference Sheets and Sign On Letter (Below)

Add your organization to this sign on letter for Source of Income protections


Tens of thousands of working MI families with kids, veterans, persons with disabilities and seniors with Housing Choice Vouchers (formerly known as Section 8 Housing Voucher program) and other non-wage legal sources of income such as SSI encounter landlords who often refuse to accept them. Low-income tenants who rely on those income sources are denied the opportunity to rent a house or apartment in the neighborhood or community of their choice.

Additionally, voucher holders are grossly underrepresented in the lowest poverty, highest opportunity census tracts and overrepresented in high-poverty and otherwise distressed neighborhoods.

Within the population of families who use vouchers, that segregating effect has the greatest impact on Black and Hispanic households, perpetuating and even worsening historical patterns of racial segregation, as well as health disparities and economic inequity.

Today, only 5% of Michigan housing units are connected to any federal rental assistance and are concentrated in areas of environmental contamination and vulnerability to natural disasters. Under current MI law, there is no clear prohibition against a landlord refusing to accept HCVs, veterans’ benefits, alimony, MDHHS cash assistance, SSI/SSDI as part of a person’s legal total combined income. ource of Income protection legislation aims to change that.


Bills have been introduced in the House (HB 4062, 4063) and Senate (SB 205, 206, 207) in 2023 to protect Michigan renters from discrimination based on their source of income. Joining 20 other states & DC (including Utah, Oklahoma and North Dakota) the Michigan Legislature should protect renter’s civil rights throughout the state, no matter where they choose to live. These bills will create genuine housing opportunities for tens of thousands of
Michigan families, helping to alleviate both the state’s affordable housing crisis and
longstanding patterns of housing segregation, discrimination and inequity.

We support this legislation and ask that the bills receive a committee hearing and be

Michigan can’t wait any longer- the time is now!

Remove barriers to housing by ensuring that MI tenants are protected from income discrimination.


Alger Marquette Community Action Board
Avalon Housing
Battle Creek VA
Center for Civil Justice
Central Community Development Corporation and the NOAH Project
City of Detroit Health Department
Community Action House
Community Housing Network
Disability Network Capital Area
Dwelling Place
Dwelling Place Regional Community Land Trust
Enterprise Community Partners
Fair Housing Center of Metropolitan Detroit
Fair Housing Center of West Michigan
Fairway Christian Reformed Church
Family Promise
Family Promise of GR
Friends In Deed
Goodwill Northern Michigan
Grand Rapids Housing Commission
GreenHome Institute
HOPE Shelters
Housing Access for Washtenaw County
Housing Next
ICCF Community Homes
Kent County Essential Needs Task Force (ENTF)
Lakeshore Housing Alliance
Lighthouse MI
Lighthouse MI
Lighthouse of Michigan
Lighthouse of Oakland County
Livingston Family Center
Mel Trotter Ministries
MI Broke Life
MI Coalition Against Homelessness
Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness
Michigan League for Public Policy
Mid Michigan Community Action
National Homeless Shelter
Neighborhood Legal Services Michigan
Neighbors for More Neighbors — Ann Arbor
New City Kids
Northpointe Bank
Roscommon County United Way
Safe Haven Ministries
Salvation Army Matts Shelter
Seeds of Promise
Shelter Association of Washtenaw County
SOS Community Services
T J Quinn Miniseries
Testing of Inserted WP Form
The Refuge Homeless Shelter in Lapeer
U.P. Kids
United Way of Ottawa and Allegan Counties
United Way of Washtenaw County
United Way of Washtenaw County
Washtenaw County Office of Community and Economic Development
Washtenaw Housing Alliance
Washtenaw Housing Alliance
Washtenaw Housing Alliance
Wayne Metro CAA
Wyoming Housing Commission
Michelle LaJoie
Aubrey Patiño
Cecilia Rush
Kelly Bidelman
Amy Brown
Desiree Arscott
Scott Rumpsa
Taylor Eberhart
Andrew Gilroy
Alyssa Rietveld
Jeffrey Spangler
Jeremy DeRoo
David de Velder
Evelyn Zwiebach
Steve Tomkowiak
Nancy Haynes
Eric Scholtens
Lindsay Moore
Julia Ervin
Carla Wilson, MSW
Ryan Hannon
Lindsey Reames
Jose Reyna
Taylor Brandenberger
Elizabeth Kelly
Margaret Behnke
Ryan Kilpatrick
Ryan VerWys
Wende Randall
Ginny Coxe
Lyn Raymond
Max Glick
Ryan Hertz
Erinn Johnson
Martha Szilagyi
Angela Parth
Jerrin Tyler
Allison Green
Amy and Michael Stephenson
Heather VanDenburg
Adrienne Goodstal
Sandra Isaacs
Lisa Chapman
Meredith McDonnell
Monique Stanton
Eva Rohlman
Grace Robinson
Carol Jolly
Jean Leverich
Christy Knetsch
Ryan Gummere
Emily Berning
Thomas Pettit
Tanesha Jordan
Kate Smith
Ronald Jimmerson
Sarah Jasinski
Sarah Scalabrino
Tiffany Quinn
Amy and Michael Stephenson
Amy and Michael Stephenson
Andrea Henderson
Jodi Decker
Randy Kortering
Bridget Herrmann
Bridget Herrmann
Ambrose Rivers
Sharon Lapides
Amanda Carlisle
Amanda Carlisle
Laura Mann
Kimberly Seymour
Christine Johnstone
Jackie Lepore
Dayna Neef
Shannon Noe
Pete Ford
Jennifer Maynard
Kathryn Rousseau
Samantha Morrison
Kara Trainor
Sharon Lapides
Courtney Vanderlaan
Taylor Eberhart
Stacey Murphy
Dayna Neef
Katie Carlisle
Amanda Johnson
Miranda Medina
Tyler Langoni
Elizabeth DeLaLuz
Robert Roth
Amanda Sternberg
Deborah Jandle, LMSW
Victoria Purvis
Ellen Abramson
Jeanette Kibler
Barbara Niess-May
Emily Koenders
Mitchell Lindstrom
Emilija Kraai
Robert Argue
Susan Wyman
Cheryle Bailey
Mark Kornelis
Colleen Steyer
Penny Hughes
Carolyn Stancil
Dorothy Wolff
Heather Nawrocki-Cote
Shauna Evans
Helen Mishreky
Lisa Purtill-Pratt